Infos

Marrakech

This is the imperial city and the tourist capital of the country forever. More than a million Marrakchis live in the third city of the kingdom “Marrakech.” It is also called the RED city because of red of all buildings and houses in the city.

LANGUAGE IN MOROCCO

The official language is Arabic in Morocco. The second language is French.

Taxis in Marrakech

If you do not want to use public transport (very inexpensive and relatively well served), take taxis, but insist because some forget the meter even if the practice is less common. The prices are very low (compared to France for example). Les Petits Taxis can not leave Marrakech. At night the price is legally increased by 50% but you often must negotiate the course, especially out of nightclubs. For your longer trips outside Marrakech, you will take the Grands Taxis (price negotiable).

Marrakech GUIDES

If you want to visit in or near Marrakech, there are the true guides (with badges) and false guides who approach you under cover of a banal discussion (to be avoided because the police chases). 200 dirhams starting the day.

TIME ZONES IN MOROCCO

2 hours shift in the summer. If 14 hours in Morocco, it is 16 hours in France. 1 hour shift in the winter. If 14 hours in Morocco, it is 15 hours in France.

WATER IN MOROCCO

Even if the water is drinkable, we recommend the bottled water sold everywhere in Morocco (Sidi Ali, Sidi Harazem, Danone, Sky, etc …)

HEALTH in Marrakech

Many pharmacies in Marrakech, we find almost all the usual medications. Private hospitals are of good comfort and general practitioners very professional. So no worries on that side. Beware of sunstroke. Side food and Moroccan specialties, there is no risk.

PURCHASES IN MOROCCO

All prices are questionable (except in some stores reported). You will have to negotiate, trade, appreciate, take your time and stay calm. Beware of “antiques” and avoid expensive copies (Lacoste, Rolex, etc …) that may cause you trouble at the airport back to Europe.

THE TIPPING IN MOROCCO

They are at your discretion. Beware that people are still poor and that your generosity will be greatly appreciated by Moroccans (guards, waiters, maids, vendors, miscellaneous personal). As for the parking of cars, let the day five dirhams and 10 dirhams night, you’ll be a prince.

LOST IN MOROCCO

In Morocco, what is lost is lost, there is no place to bring the findings and often what you’ve lost will make happy someone else. Do not head in the air especially in taxis.

SECURITY In Marrakech

Whether for your children or for yourself, Marrakech is a safe city where crime is minimal. Do not go out with bundles of money from your pockets and do not leave your wallet or camera, the temptation is universal. Beware of pickpockets on the Jemaa El Fna

Infos pratiques

Marrakech

C’est la ville impériale et la capitale touristique du pays depuis toujours. Plus d’un million de Marrakchis habitent dans la troisième ville du royaume «Marrakech». Elle est appelée aussi la ville ROUGE en raison des couleurs rouge de tous les bâtiments et maisons de la ville.

LANGUE OFFICIELLE AU MAROC

La langue officielle au Maroc est l’arabe. La deuxième langue est le Français.

LES TAXIS À Marrakech

Si vous ne voulez pas utiliser les transports en commun (très peu coûteux et assez bien desservis), prenez les taxis, mais exigez le compteur que certains oublient même si cette pratique est de moins en moins courante. Les prix sont très faibles (par rapport à la France par exemple). Les Petits Taxis ne peuvent quitter Marrakech. La nuit tombée le prix est légalement augmenté de 50% mais souvent il faut négocier la course, surtout aux sorties des discothèques. Pour vos plus longs déplacements, hors de Marrakech, vous devrez emprunter les Grands Taxis (prix à négocier).

LES GUIDES À Marrakech

Si vous voulez visiter Marrakech ou ses environs, y a les vrais guides (avec leurs badges) et les faux guides qui vous abordent sous le couvert d’une discussion banale (à éviter car la police les pourchasse). Compter 200 dirhams la journée.

FUSEAUX HORAIRES AU MAROC

2 heures de décalage en été. S’il est 14 heures au Maroc, il est 16 heures en France. 1 heure de décalage en hiver. S’il est 14 heures au Maroc, il est 15 heures en France.

L’EAU AU MAROC

Même si l’eau est potable, nous vous conseillons les bouteilles d’eau minérale en vente partout au Maroc (Sidi Ali, Sidi Harazem, Danone, Ciel, etc…)

LA SANTÉ À Marrakech

Dans les nombreuses pharmacies de Marrakech, on trouve à peu près tous les médicaments habituels. Les hôpitaux privés sont d’un bon confort et les médecins généralistes très professionnels. Donc pas de soucis de ce côté-là. Méfiez vous des insolations. Côté nourriture et spécialités marocaines, il n’y a pas de risques.

LES ACHATS AU MAROC

Tous les prix sont discutables (hormis dans certaines boutiques signalées). Sachez négocier, commercer, apprécier, prendre votre temps et rester calme. Méfiez-vous des « antiquités » très chères et éviter les copies (Lacoste, Rolex, etc…) qui risque de vous causer des soucis à l’aéroport français.

LES POURBOIRES AU MAROC

Ils sont à votre bon vouloir. Sachez que les gens restent tout de même pauvres et que votre générosité sera très appréciée des marocains (gardiens, serveurs, femmes de ménage, vendeurs, personnels divers). En ce qui concerne le parcage des voitures, laissez 5 dirhams le jour et 10 dirhams la nuit, vous serez un prince.

OBJETS PERDUS AU MAROC

Hélas, au Maroc, ce qui est perdu est perdu, il n’y a pas de lieu pour ramener les trouvailles et bien souvent ce que vous avez perdu fait le bonheur de quelqu’un d’autre. Ne soyez pas tête en l’air surtout dans les taxis.

LA SÉCURITÉ À Marrakech

Que ce soit pour vos enfants ou pour vous-même, Marrakech est une ville sûre où la délinquance est minime. Mais ne tentez pas le sort. Ne sortez pas des liasses de billets de vos poches et ne laissez pas traîner votre portefeuille ou votre caméra ; la tentation est universelle. Attention aux pickpockets sur la Place Jemaa El Fna